Disaster Frequencies

These are frequencies that would be useful to monitor before, during and after a natural or manmade disaster occurs. These are frequencies for not only government agencies like FEMA, Kentucky National Guard and Kentucky Emergency Management but civilian organizations as well like SKYWARN, ARES, RACES, American Red Cross and WAVE and WLKY TV remote broadcast pickup.

 SKYWARN Frequencies

SKYWARN is the National Weather Service's volunteer storm spotter program. SKYWARN radio nets are set up on VHF and UHF ham radio frequencies during severe weather conditions. It's a good idea to monitor the SKYWARN spotter nets for up-to-the-second weather information.

 Frequency  TX Offset    Tone        Description            Mode

•146.7000   -600KHz     79.7 PL      B.A.R.S. Repeater       FM

•443.7000   -600KHz     151.4 PL     B.A.R.S. Repeater       FM


N.O.A.A All Hazards Radio

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration operates a nationwide network of VHF radio stations collectively called NOAA All Hazards Radio. There are 7 VHF frequencies used across the country.

Local NOAA Radio Frequency

162.4750   S.A.M.E. Code for Louisville is 021111


Amateur Radio

Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service (RACES)/Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES).RACES is an amateur radio organization whose mission is provide radio communications as needed during emergencies. Like RACES, ARES is also an amateur radio emergency communications organization and shares the same mission and goals, During an emergency or disaster it would be wise to monitor these frequencies.)



American Red Cross



Kentucky National Guard/Emergency Management


The Kentucky Department of Military Affairs Radio Communications System (DMARCS) is a statewide VHF High Band Two Way Radio System designed and operated to provide Direction and Control (Command and Control) communications from any location statewide back to the Kentucky Emergency Operations Center (EOC).  The system uses frequencies licensed and awarded by the US Army and the Department of Defense.


DMARCS consists of 53 repeaters statewide organized into 13 Communications Zones and interconnected by the KEWS Microwave Network. DMARCS was upgraded during 2007 to an APCO 25 Digital Multicast encrypted two-way radio system.  DMARCS depends on the KEWS network.  To provide emergency communications with the loss of all or part of the KEWS network, all DMARCS VHF Repeaters default to repeater mode allowing for local communications around the repeater.


In addition to the 53 statewide repeaters, DMARCS includes VHF Base Stations at 52 Armories and KYEM Area Offices.  All of these sites have or have access to full time emergency power.


Kentucky Civil Air Patrol uses this system  (139.6125 is CAP Ch 68)


KYEM REGION 4: Bullitt, Breckenridge, Hardin, Jefferson, Larue, Meade, Nelson



Copyright © 2015 BluegrassMedia